Border Counties

Residents of bordering New Mexico counties are eligible to pay in-state tuition rates through a tuition reciprocity agreement between Texas State University System components and New Mexico institutions of higher education. 

Counties in New Mexico that border the state of Texas are:

  • Dona Ana
  • Otero
  • Eddy
  • Lea
  • Roosevelt
  • Curry
  • Quay
  • Union

Proof of a permanent address in a bordering county must be presented to the Registrar prior to the census date for the term in which the waiver is sought.

NOTE: No such reciprocity agreements exists with Oklahoma, Arkansas, or Lousiana.